Harem Scarem – Human Nature (Bonus Track) (2006)


Over the last four or five years and three or four albums, Harem Scarem have quietly become one of my favorite bands and their latest cd continues pretty much right where the last one left off. They’ve honed their signature sound to perfection and become what Def Leppard should have, but failed to become: A rock band that seamlessly blends the styles and sounds of the 80’s metal with a modern twist. They’ve managed to create songs with a sound that I think could appeal to new and old fans without alienating either. It’s a fine line, but they walk it well. Not only are the songs good, but they go well together. The whole album is just solid. And I find myself going back to it over and over again, not just to hear one or two songs, but to play it all the way through. They aren’t the heaviest songs, or the flashiest, and I don’t think that I could point out one and say, “This is why I like them.” Their appeal is in the details. The balanced layers of melodies, harmonies, rhythms and solos … This album is just terrific.

1 Human Nature
2 Next Time Around
3 Caught Up in Your World
4 Reality
5 Hanging On
6 Don’t Throw It Away
7 Give Love/Get Love
8 21
9 Starlight
10 Going Under
11 Tomorrow May Be Gone
12 Higher (Acoustic Version)


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s