Joe Satriani – Flying In A Blue Dream (1989)


An hour-long disc filled with musical explorations and compositions that defy belief, Flying in a Blue Dream is unquestionably Joe Satriani at his absolute best. Breaking his all-instrumental tradition for the first time, he croons on six of the disc’s 18 tracks, including the weird “Strange”; and the bluesy, hard-rocking “Big Bad Moon”; and the driving “Can’t Slow Down.” Satriani’s voice isn’t extraordinary, but it fits extremely well with the music he creates, especially on the acoustic-tinged, uplifting “I Believe.” It’s his playing that’s the really impressive thing here, though; his unique tone and complex song structures are enhanced by his signature playing style and the incredible array of effects and tricks he wrestles out of his instrument. The disc closes with the high-flying, misty piece “Into the Light,” leaving behind a feeling of real wonder. Soaring, powerful, and triumphant, this recording deserves a place in everyone’s collection.

1 Flying in a Blue Dream
2 The Mystical Potato Head Groove Thing
3 Can’t Slow Down
4 Headless
5 Strange
6 I Believe
7 One Big Rush
8 Big Bad Moon
9 The Feeling
10 The Phone Call
11 Day at the Beach (New Rays from an Ancient Sun)
12 Back to Shalla-Bal
13 Ride
14 The Forgotten, Pt. 1
15 The Forgotten, Pt. 2
16 The Bells of Lal, Pt. 1
17 The Bells of Lal, Pt. 2
18 Into the Light


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s