Live – Throwing Copper (1994)


On Throwing Copper, Live tightened their sound, added crashing crescendos for dramatic effect, and injected some anger into their sound and songwriting. They also eased up a bit on the Eastern philosophy; the result is a more cohesive, memorable record overall, and quite an improvement from the sometimes overly precious Mental Jewelry. And for all of Mental Jewelry’s ideologies, Throwing Copper is ultimately a more passionate and successful album, thanks to tracks like “I Alone,” “Selling the Drama,” and “All Over You,” all of which received heavy radio play. The rebirth-themed “Lightning Crashes,” the album’s biggest hit, was written in memory of Barbara Lewis, a classmate who was killed by a drunk driver in 1993. Other standouts include the Kurt Cobain/Courtney Love-inspired “Stage,” the apocalyptic “White, Discussion,” the bass-driven, obsessive “Iris,” and the dark “Dam at Otter Creek.”

1 The Dam at Otter Creek
2 Selling the Drama
3 I Alone
4 Iris
5 Lightning Crashes
6 Top
7 All over You
8 Shit Towne
9 T.B.D.
10 Stage
11 Waitress
12 Pillar of Davidson
13 White, Discussion
14 (Untitled)