Metallica – And Justice for All (1988)


The most immediately noticeable aspect of …And Justice for All isn’t Metallica’s still-growing compositional sophistication or the apocalyptic lyrical portrait of a society in decay. It’s the weird, bone-dry production. The guitars buzz thinly, the drums click more than pound, and Jason Newsted’s bass is nearly inaudible. It’s a shame that the cold, flat sound obscures some of the sonic details, because …And Justice for All is Metallica’s most complex, ambitious work; every song is an expanded suite, with only two of the nine tracks clocking in at under six minutes. It takes a while to sink in, but given time, …And Justice for All reveals some of Metallica’s best material. It also reveals the band’s determination to pull out all the compositional stops, throwing in extra sections, odd-numbered time signatures, and dense webs of guitar arpeggios and harmonized leads. At times, it seems like they’re doing it simply because they can; parts of the album lack direction and probably should have been trimmed for momentum’s sake. Pacing-wise, the album again loosely follows the blueprint of Ride the Lightning, though not as closely as Master of Puppets. This time around, the fourth song ? once again a ballad with a thrashy chorus and outro ? gave the band one of the unlikeliest Top 40 singles in history; “One” was an instant metal classic, based on Dalton Trumbo’s antiwar novel Johnny Got His Gun and climaxing with a pulverizing machine-gun imitation.

1 Blackened
2 …And Justice for All
3 Eye of the Beholder
4 One
5 The Shortest Straw
6 Harvester of Sorrow
7 The Frayed Ends of Sanity
8 To Live Is to Die
9 Dyers Eve

…And Justice for All

…And Justice for All is American heavy metal band Metallica’s fourth studio album released August 25, 1988, by Elektra Records.

It is the first studio album to feature bassist Jason Newsted and without former bassist Cliff Burton. The front cover depicts the statue of Lady Justice cracked and bound by ropes, with both of her scales filled with dollars and both of her breasts exposed. The words “…And Justice for All” are written in graffiti to the right. This was used to symbolize that Justice had been raped, which is the main theme of the album as expressed in songs such as “Eye of the Beholder” and “…And Justice for All.”

Size:145MB Bitrate:320Kbps

Track listing

All songs written by James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, and Kirk Hammett except where noted.

1. “Blackened” (Hetfield, Ulrich, Jason Newsted) ? 6:41
2. “…And Justice for All” ? 9:47
3. “Eye of the Beholder” ? 6:30
4. “One” (Hetfield, Ulrich) ? 7:27
5. “The Shortest Straw” (Hetfield, Ulrich) ? 6:36
6. “Harvester of Sorrow” (Hetfield, Ulrich) ? 5:46
7. “The Frayed Ends of Sanity” ? 7:44
8. “To Live Is to Die” (Hetfield, Ulrich, Cliff Burton) ? 9:49
9. “Dyers Eve” ? 5:13




  • Calendar

    • July 2018
      M T W T F S S
      « Dec    
  • Search