U2 – October (1981)


U2 sounded so confident and assured on their debut that perhaps it was inevitable they would stumble slightly on its follow-up, October. But when U2 do marry the message, melody, and sound together, as on “Gloria,” “I Threw a Brick Through a Window,” and “I Fall Down,” the results are thoroughly impressive.

1 Gloria
2 I Fall Down
3 I Threw a Brick
4 Rejoice
5 Fire
6 Tomorrow
7 October
8 With a Shout
9 Stranger in a Strange Land
10 Scarlet
11 Is That All?